Chalk it up to Activism! #BoycottAutismSpeaks

Thirty Days of Autism

Iamnotapuzzle.jpg Image: H kneeling on pavement focused on creating a chalk drawing comprised of a blue puzzle piece surrounded by a red circle with a diagonal line through it. Beside the circle is a drawing of a fist with the thumb pointing down. Text reads: “I am not a puzzle – do not support A$” Watermarked: Thirty Days of Autism: Leah Kelley

So, some people may wonder why I do this activism stuff with my son… and some might even think that it would be better to shield him from what Autism Speaks says about Autistic people.

If I thought for a moment that it was just Autism Speaks that conveyed the negative messages about what it means to be Autistic or the family member of an Autistic person, I might be inclined to entertain that. I might be tempted to consider, for just a moment, that my son might…

View original post 642 more words

Leave a Reply

